California, like other states, sets a minimum wage that employers must pay their employees. Failure to pay the required wages is a serious offense, and workers might be entitled to back pay. This raises an important question: What is minimum wage in the state of California? The most simple answer is that for the year… Read More

In California, most workers are entitled to be paid a minimum wage. Many workers are also entitled to overtime pay — in the event that they are required to work more than eight hours in a day or 40 hours in one week. However, some workers are exempt from these laws. This includes ‘outside salespersons’…. Read More

Leaving a job can be challenging — especially if you are not able to leave the position on your own terms. The period between one job and another can be financially stressful for any person. A severance package can help to ease this transition. While California employers are generally not required to offer their workers… Read More

In California, most non-exempt employees are entitled to a certain number of meal breaks and rest periods throughout their work shifts. How many breaks you’re entitled to depend mainly on the length of your shift. If you feel your California employer is denying you a proper meal or rest breaks,  reach out to the employees’… Read More

If you were fired or quit your job in California, you are entitled to pay immediately, or within 72 hours in certain circumstances. Most employers are pretty good about issuing a final paycheck within the specified timeframe, but every once in a while, an employer will push its luck and refuse to pay the former… Read More

Before the Affordable Care Act was introduced, workers understood that “full-time” meant a full 40-hour workweek, and any employee who worked less than that was considered “part-time.” However, with the introduction of the Affordable Care Act came along the new “full-time” employee—or one who works at least 30 hours a week or at least 130… Read More

According to California Labor Code, Section 551, all California employees, regardless of occupation, are entitled to a least one rest day out of every seven days. Section 552 goes on to state that no employer may require employees to work more than six days out of a seven-day period, and any employer that tries to… Read More

What California Workers Need to Know About Wage and Hour Laws California has complex wage and hour laws that are governed by the California Labor Code and Wage Orders issued by the now-defunct Industrial Welfare Commission. These laws often contradict or are broader than federal law, so employers may have trouble knowing what is required… Read More